top of page
  • Writer's pictureTopsail Times

VFW Youth, Education And Safety Awards Program

VFW Post 9983, Holly Ridge, held its annual Youth, Education and Safety Awards Program at the Post Home 16 May 2023. Starting with the Youth awards, Brenna Wilson, a junior at Dixon High School was this year's Voice of Democracy winner. The patriotic audio essay competition allows students to write and record an essay on an annual patriotic theme. This year's theme was WHY IS THE VETERAN IMPORTANT. First place national award winner receives $30,000. Moving on to Middle School, Dixon Middle School student Benjamin Mills was this year's Patriot's Pen winner. This year's patriotic essay was titled MY PLEDGE TO OUR VETERAN. First place national award winning gets $5,000. Moving on to Scouting, Noah Witkowski Troop 235, Hampsted, was this year's Scout of the Year.

This year's education awards went to three Dixon area teachers. Coastal Elementary School Physical Education and Health teacher Alec Aguiar was awarded Elementary School Teacher of the Year. Middle School honors we bestowed on Dixon Middle School Visual Art teacher, Amanda Gooler. High School Teacher of the Year was Science and Biology teacher Heather Moore, Dixon High.

The Onslow County Sheriff's Office, sweeped the Public Servant Awards. Deputy Brent Harrell was named Public Servant of the Year and IstSgt Marc Alwes was awarded Detention Officer of the Year.

If you are interested in applying for these awards in the future, go to, click on Community then Youth and Education. Or you can contact your local VFW.

Recent Posts

See All

Beholding His Glory

"Do you value truth and God's word? Need to hear from God? Tired of religion and traditions of men? Want to feel the presence of God? Well, we invite you to come and be a part of our Home Group Meetin


bottom of page